In response to the Coronavirus, (COVID-19), the Ramona Municipal Water District lobby is temporarily closed effective Tuesday, March 17 as a precautionary measure to protect our customers and employees. All other District business and operations are being performed as usual. Water quality and supply are not impacted. Additional information is available here.  Thank you for your patience and understanding.


About Us

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

District Overview

First Water BoardThe Ramona Municipal Water District (RMWD) was formed on August 15, 1956, as a municipal water district. Organized under the Municipal Water District Law of 1911, Water Code Section 71000, RMWD provides water, sewer, recycled water, fire protection, emergency medical services and park services.

Other significant milestone dates for RMWD include:

  • 1967 - acquired the Ramona Irrigation District that was formed in 1925;
  • 1970 - annexed the San Diego Country Estates; and
  • 1981 - merged with the Ramona Sanitation District (San Vicente Sewer Service Area and Santa Maria Sewer Service Area), and with the Ramona Fire Protection District.

Service Area

The RMWD boundaries encompass approximately 45,800 acres (75 square miles) in the unincorporated area of San Diego County. RMWD provides services to approximately 7,000 urban parcels and 3,000 rural parcels with an approximate population of 40,000 people. The RMWD service area encompasses the Santa Maria Valley and surrounding hills with elevations ranging from 1,300 feet to 2,100 feet mean sea level (MSL). Approximately 13 million kilowatts of energy are used to pump water to Ramona each year.

Governing Board

About UsRamona Municipal Water District is governed by a five-member board of directors that serve staggered four-year terms of office, representing five geographical divisions. The Board meets once per month in an open session. See Board Meetings for dates, time and location.


The District has approximately 50 full time employees, structured under seven departments that serve under the direction of a General Manager. Departments include Administrative Services, Engineering, Finance, Wastewater Operations and Water Operations. Two of the departments are operated under contract, including Fire and Parks (managed by Ramona Parks and Recreation Association - “RPRA”).

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Flash Player Download Flash Player Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Download Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer